Pretty patchwork

I must admit I’ve never been a big fan of Cath Kidston. I know many people love her prints, but I’ve often thought them a bit busy, and a bit overly-sweet. However…when a friend asked me to make a quilt for her little girl with a Cath Kidston fabric bundle that she’d bought a while ago, I jumped at the chance. And once I had started cutting into the fabric and arranging the pieces, I really started to get on board with the florals, and the combinations of blues, pinks, greens and reds. In fact I was so pleased with how well the prints work together that I’ve bought another bundle so I can make a couple of quilts for the shop.

And the strawberries?? I just love them!

Cath Kidston prints

Mixed together, the prints make a very pretty patchwork – the blues and greens in the fabric tone down the pink, giving it a sweet, feminine feel. I’m planning on adding a creamy-white border all of the way around the patchwork, and binding it with red spotty fabric. More photos to follow once it’s finished!

Cath Kidston

Leave a Reply

